The Devil Is In The Details

It’s Wednesday and you know what that means niichis: hump day AND only two more days until I storm the stage at the Michigan Burlesque Festival!

10176087_424387244380530_6979684344532372240_n

Photo by Alex Exso

Today I am highlighting several “little” pieces of my Queen Elsa costume: my gloves, booty shorts, garter belt, dance tights, stockings and shoes.  All of these items were purchased from local small business.

Both pairs of gloves and my dance tights [which I wear underneath all my other garments to help create a smooth silhouette on stage] were purchased from Lynch’s, an independent costume store located in Dearborn. Lynch’s is also were I purchase the rhinestones I used to customize my silk fans, and any other part of my costume I decided needs more sparkle. My tap shoes were also bought here.

CONFESSION: sometimes I spend *too* much money at Lynch’s [my most recent total was $40 USD, which for me is getting out of that store cheap!] but I always assuage my guilt by telling myself that since it is a family owned business, I can feel good spending my money there.  It must be working because I keep going back, haha!  The performer discount they give helps too.  Be sure to check them out, especially as Halloween approaches: their entire second floor is dedicated to costume rentals!

Another one of my local favorites is Noir Leather, and it was from them that I purchased my white thigh high stockings.  In addition to leather and sex toys, Noir has an amazing selection of hosiery and clothing… SO MANY DRESSES that I want!  Last time I went in there, they had a knitted hat embroidered with the phrase “Boys whatever – Cats forever” that I would very much like to own [*hint hint fam!*], so you just never know what you’re going to find.

Last but not least I would like to spotlight my beautiful white vintage garter belt that Kim Mitchell at V-Male Detroit Vintage helped me pick out.  This was one of the very first burlesque accouterments I ever purchased, per the advice of my burlesque mama Lushes LaMoan: “Get good quality pieces in basic colors that you can use for multiple acts.”  I bought a white one and a black one [both from V-Male]; they have served me faithfully since 2011.

I would wager that V-Male carries more vintage clothing than any other vintage store you’ve ever visited. It doesn’t matter what you’re looking for; from the ‘40s to the ‘70s, they have it all.  If it’s funky, classic or sexy, if it’s clothing from a musical genre, or even if you want a piece of retro art, V-Male is your store. Many of their clothes still have their original price tag, and every day they add more to the selection.

Kim has become like family to me and I love going in to the store, brainstorming my costuming ideas with her and having her hand-select her favorite pieces for me.  It makes me feel like a burlesque princess!  Be sure to check them out; I’m sure you’ll become a fan!

Mi’iwi [that’s all] ❤

12346635_1175108862503748_2030277687_n

Photo by Ed Ballots

Leave a Reply

