Good Day

dre940_malleus_poster_2016_web_mock_aeb0e60b-9d98-42bb-9287-4b4205218590Flashback to Friday two weeks ago when Liz Lola and I journeyed to Boston for the Dresden Dolls reunion tour.  Full disclosure, I have never heard any of the band’s music. I am also HoH/Deaf.

My partner suggested that I check out some of the music on YouTube before heading off to Massachusetts for the concert. I declined, explaining that I preferred to be surprised.  If I didn’t like the music, I didn’t want to slip in a negative mindset about a trip we had already put so much time and effort into planning.

The drive was agonizing; I swear that we disappeared into some sort of worm-hole.  In the end, it took us well over 20 hours to reach downtown Boston, almost double what it should have.  We arrived at the hotel with less than an hour to get ready and get to the concert on time.  Spoiler alert: we missed the opening act [POWER BOTTOM] but managed to make it to guest services ten minutes before the Dresden Dolls were to take the stage, which gave us just enough time to meet up with the my American Sign Language [ASL] interpreters and find our seats.

THE SHOW WAS AMAZING! I was blown away by the performances.  Hana and Veronica [the sign language interpreters] BROUGHT IT!  Honestly, I didn’t watch Amanda & Brian on stage too much; I was transfixed by the ASL in front of me!

14182354_10106984137524233_544850355_n.jpgFam, youse really have no idea what a big deal it was for me to be able to “hear” the songs at this concert, to be able to be fully engaged with the music.

It was great being able to feel and react to the emotion on stage in real-time, without having to constantly turn to my (hearing) partner to ask,”What did they say? What’s going on?”

I got to laugh along with everyone else in the audience, and cry too.  It was so amazing to be able to really BE there; with my hearing loss, that rarely happens for me! I’m tearing up remembering it even now ❤

Miigweetch to my ASL interpreters, Hana & Veronica, for giving me the gift of the Dresden Dolls music, particularly Amanda Palmer’s amazing lyricism.

I’d also like to extend a huge thank-you to Bethany at the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion for making it all happen.

I will never be able to listen to this song again without “seeing” Hana “on fire” in my mind  (such a great thing)!

Mi’iwi [that’s all] ❤

Leave a Reply

