Too Sexy For My Selfie

Taking pictures and updating social media is absolutely normal.  As both a fotog and an individual living with a TBI (traumatic brain injury), I will be one of the first to start firing off shots to document the event and preserve precious memories.

However, I see too many people who are so consumed with cementing the moment in digital celluloid that they lose out on what is happening right in front of them.  It is hard to truly participate in an event when you are nose deep in your iPhone trying to pick the best filter to complement your eyes, or whatever self-centered, hopelessly indulgent, narcissistic dialogue is running though your mind at that moment. I know, and feel I can speak on this subject with some authority, as I am guilty of it like anyone else.

It wasn’t until my beloved Canon died (a stuck shutter from overuse, ironically enough), that I was able to take a step back and see all that I had been missing while hiding behind my lens.

Go ahead: take some snapshots, but then put down the camera/phone/iPad and just enjoy the moment.

If all your time is spent making a million Facebook albums, Instagramming every time you encounter WiFi and you find yourself taking Snapchats and selfies every five minutes, you’re gonna have a bad time.

#SELFIE

 

Leave a Reply

