Forever Autumn

Adapted from Jeff Wayne’s “War of the Worlds” (1978)

The summer sun is fading as the year grows old,

A man's dying is more the survivors' affair than his own.

And darker days are drawing near,

The winter winds will be much colder,

Now you’re not here

I watch the birds fly south across the Autumn sky,

And one by one they disappear,

I with that I was flying with them,
Now you’re not here

Like the sun through the trees you came to love me,

Like a leaf on a breeze you blew away

Through Autumn’s golden gown we used to kick our way,

You always loved this time of year,

Those fallen leaves lie undisturbed now,

‘Cause you’re not here

Like the sun through the trees you came to love me,

Like a leaf on a breeze you blew away

A gentle rain falls softly on my weary eyes,

As if to hide a lonely tear,

My life will be forever Autumn

‘Cause you’re not here…

Leave a Reply

