Salute In Silence

Why, you may take the most gallant sailor, the most intrepid airman or the most audacious soldier, put them at a table together - what do you get? The sum of their fears.

i am a soldier.

never will i leave a fallen comrade,

but if my comrades knew my secret

would they leave me behind?

i am a sailor.

i obey the orders of those appointed over me.

but if i spoke aloud my secret to my shipmates

would they mutiny against me?

i am a Marine.

i am a defender of my country.

but if my fellow Marines learned of my secret

would they defend me?

i am an Airman.

i answered my nation’s call

but if my wingman heard my secret

would he still fly faithfully beside me?

we are the silent ranks

we will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against ALL enemies

foreign AND domestic

and we will bear true faith and allegiance to the same

so help us.

2 comments

  1. Thank you for writing this. It needed to be said, and you did it well.

    1. Thank you. I think the greatest thing we can do as allies to the cause is to speak for those who cannot speak for themselves. Keep up the good fight!

Leave a Reply

