Butterflies and Earthquakes

I am not a fan of President Obama, a fact that I do little to hide, but even I was impressed with the 2010 State of the Union address.  I felt for the first time that the concerns of the people-our disgust over the bank bailout, dismay over unemployment and rising healthcare costs—were really acknowledged and validated.  The quote that struck me the most (so much so I made it my Facebook status for the day) was that he “will not accept second place for the United States!”

If only I could I'd make a deal with God and I'd get him to swap our places

The United States should be taking the steps to secure green jobs, referencing China and India in their rise as intellectual powerhouses in the fields of math and science.  However, there was a protectionist undertone (albeit welcome on my part) to his words.  No more tax breaks for companies that send their jobs overseas…but what does this do to the economies of countries that we currently exploi—I mean do business with?

Of course, policies concerning our military are always on my radar and the president’s promise to have all COMBAT TROOPS out of Iraq by August particularly piqued my interest.

What about the auxiliary ground support?  Will some troops remain in place on a humanitarian basis?  Are we going to fix what we broke or is that not in this ‘family’s’ budget?  But I digress…

The call for ‘nuclear weapons ownership responsibility’ (as I like to think of it) and that of a “united international front” which isolates Iran was chilling to me, in a “Final Frontier” sense.

Leave a Reply

