Revelations (4 of 7)

The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances: if there is any reaction, both are transformed.

The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances: if there is any reaction, both are transformed.

Recently, an associate and I attended the wedding of a mutual friend.  I’m at that age now where everyone I know is getting married.

Myself, the numbers scare me. Like “Hey, is this the line I get in to give away half of all my stuff?  Awesome!  This is gonna be great!”…But I digress.

As my partner and I watched the stunning, beaming bridal party sashay down the aisle, we placed odds on which Bible passages would be selected for the reading, a la Vaughn and Wilson in The Wedding Crashers.

Of course I won out with 1 Corinthians 13:4-13 (5:1 for those of you who are interested in such things) when suddenly, I heard the words as if for the first time, and felt a resonating truth in the old familiar passage reverberate through my soul…

“[Love] does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful… It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”

I’d heard it so many times before the words had become meaningless and I had all but dismissed it.  Yet that’s when a revolutionary thought struck me: maybe so-dubbed “tried and true adages” are tried and true for a reason.

My grandmother had all these things she would say, and at the time whenever she’s say one, I wanted to cram it down her throat.  It drove me crazy to hear her talk like that!  So smug and self-assured.  Eighty years on this planet will do that to you, I suppose.  Regardless, it is maddening to us less-evolved life forms…

“Ain’t nothin’ new in this old world,” she’d say, time and time again.  “It’s the same silly storyline, playing over and over, year after year, eon after eon.  Nothing’s new.  Nothing’s ever new.  It’s all the same bullsh*t.”

And you know what?

'Tis the most tender part of love, each other to forgive.

'Tis the most tender part of love, each other to forgive.

I think she just might be onto something.

Leave a Reply

